Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers

Letter from the Chairman – Chicago Section STLE

Fellow STLE Members and Industry Colleagues, Welcome to the Chicago Section STLE website! We are glad you’ve taken time to visit our site and hope it will be informative. We encourage suggestions on how we can make it and section activities more useful to you. Please send us your comments.

The Chicago Section offers something for everyone involved in tribology and lubrication, from university researchers, to plant reliability engineers, to lubricant and additive manufacturers. We offer numerous opportunities to increase fundamental and practical lubrication knowledge including monthly technical meetings (September-April) and an educational seminar. In 2016 our Education Seminar was held at Argonne National Laboratory on March 16th -17th. The topic was “Lubrication Fundamentals.” New classes will be offered in 2017.

The Chicago Section strives to understand the needs of its members, offering options that make it easy to participate. The Chicago section has a number of committees where members can volunteer their time or take part in an activity. Every year the Chicago section plans and hosts a Social Event where members can bring family and friends out for an evening of fun. Past events included attending a performance at Second City or an evening cruise of the Chicago Lakefront. For members who enjoy the game of Golf, the Chicago Section offers a Golf Tournament every year in June. The Chicago Section also strives to reach to future members and retain existing members. We have a Committee devoted to Membership who has plans to reach out to local Universities to attract the next generation of members. In addition, the popular “Member get a Member” program will be re-started this year. Members who recruit new members will be entered into a raffle for prizes. Stay tuned for more information on this program. Each year the Chicago section supports local Science Fairs and offers a Scholarship to students for post-secondary education. Volunteers are welcome for Science Fair judging.

I would like to thank our outgoing chairperson Karen Harrington for her wisdom, patience and leadership, as well as all members of the executive committee who unselfishly devoted their time and energy to make the past year a valuable one for members and colleagues.

Finally, I would like to welcome incoming officers and committee chairs and thank them for their willingness to serve:

  • Rick Butler: Vice-Chairman (Chemtool)
  • Dave Morrison: Treasurer (Castrol Industrial)
  • Dennis Patti: Secretary (Independent)
  • Immediate Past Chair and Nominations: Karen Harrington (Afton Chemical)
  • Mike Feltman: Program Chair (Falex)
  • Ken Pelczarski: Directory Chair (Pelichem Associates)
  • Soraya Kraszczyk: Membership Chair (ANGUS Chemical Co.)
  • Jeff Mackey: Careers Chair (Yushiro USA)
  • Liz Bennett: Social Chair/Trustee (Ivanhoe Industries)
  • Patrick Brutto: Education Chair (ANGUS Chemical Co.)
  • Michael Bruner: Golf Chair/Trustee (Tower Oil & Technology Co.)
  • Alexes Morgan: Media Chair/Trustee (Sea-Land Chemical Co.)
  • Nicole Webb: Trustee (ANGUS Chemical Co.)

Best Wishes,
Robert Erck